Go Back

Hirshhorn Announces Board Officer Elections

July 25, 2013

Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer Positions Filled
In a vote today, the Board of Trustees of the Smithsonian’s Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden elected a slate of officers: Peggy P. Burnet, Chair; John Pappajohn, Vice Chair; Jane Lipton Cafritz, Secretary; and Daniel Sallick, Treasurer.

“The Board is excited to face the challenges and embrace the opportunities at the Hirshhorn,” said Burnet, who joined the board in 2010. “We are enthusiastic about our role in supporting and advising the museum. I am grateful for the service of board members both past and present. I am fortunate to have worked, and to continue to work, with people who care deeply about the Hirshhorn and its mission.”

“I am delighted to be involved with the new board and remain very optimistic about the Hirshhorn’s future,” said Pappajohn, who has served on the board since 1999. “It is a wonderful museum with a great collection and reputation.”

About the Officers
Peggy P. Burnet serves on the Smithsonian National Board; she serves on the Nominating Committee, which she once chaired, and has also served as Vice Chair and Chair of the Science Committee. She and her husband, Ralph, have been involved with the Walker Art Center for 25 years, and Ralph Burnet has served on its board for 22 years. Peggy Burnet also currently serves as Vice Chair of the Minnesota State Arts Board. She has served on the boards of Minnesota Public Radio, Planned Parenthood, Children’s Theatre Company and the Sheltering Arms Foundation in various leadership and fundraising capacities. The Burnets own the art hotel Le Méridien Chambers Minneapolis. They live in Wayzata, Minnesota.

John Pappajohn is the president of Equity Dynamics, a financial consulting firm, and the owner of Pappajohn Capital Resources, a venture capital fund. He serves on the Trustees Council for the National Gallery of Art, and he and his wife, Mary, who are listed among the 2013 ARTnews 200 Top Collectors, serve on the Collectors Committee of the National Gallery of Art and also the National Committee for the Whitney Museum of American Art. Mary Pappajohn serves as a trustee for both the Walker Art Center and the Des Moines Art Center, where John Pappajohn is an honorary trustee. The Pappajohns contributed 27 major outdoor artworks to the Des Moines Art Center for the John and Mary Pappajohn Sculpture Park, which opened in 2009. John Pappajohn is a member of the National Committee for the Performing Arts at the Kennedy Center, a board member of the Horatio Alger Association, and a past member of the Board of Directors of Americans for the Arts. The Pappajohns live in Des Moines and New York.

Jane Lipton Cafritz, a Hirshhorn board member since 2012, is a real estate developer and former tax attorney. She is a past Chairman of the Washington National Opera, which became affiliated with the Kennedy Center under her tenure. She is also a past Secretary of the National Symphony Orchestra Board of Directors, as well as a current member. She serves on the Smithsonian National Board and is a member of the Blair House Board of Trustees. For the past ten years she has served on the Advisory Board of the Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation. Cafritz and her family live in Washington, D.C.

Daniel Sallick, a Hirshhorn board member since 2010, founded Home Front Communications with Paul Frick in 1998. Sallick served as Press Secretary to House Democratic Leader Dick Gephardt and as Communications Director for the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee. Sallick and his family live in Washington, D.C.

About the Hirshhorn
The Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, the Smithsonian Institution’s museum of international modern and contemporary art, has nearly 12,000 paintings, sculptures, photographs, mixed-media installations, works on paper and new media works in its collection. The Hirshhorn presents varied exhibitions and offers an array of public programs that explore modern and contemporary art. Located at Independence Avenue and Seventh Street S.W., the museum is open daily from 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. (except Dec. 25). Admission to the galleries and special programs is free. For more information about exhibitions and events, please visit hirshhorn.si.edu. Follow the Hirshhorn on Facebook at facebook.com/hirshhorn and on Twitter at twitter.com/hirshhorn. To request accessibility services, please contact Kristy Maruca at marucak@si.edu or (202) 633-2796, preferably two weeks in advance.


# # #

This entry was posted in Press Release. Bookmark the permalink.