Hirshhorn Plaza

This group exhibition of contemporary art, the third in the museum’s Directions series, suggested certain concerns, or “directions,” shared by artists employing diverse styles and media. The four directions and the 17 artists represented were “Melodrama” (Ida Applebroog, Robert Longo, David Salle, Cindy Sherman, and Alexis Smith); “Expressionisms” (Jonathan Borofsky, Mary Jones, Elizabeth Murray, Pierre Picot, and Julian Schnabel); “From the Model” (Siah Armajani, Judith Shea, Scott Burton, and Robert Wilhite); and “Real Space / Illusion” (Kendall Buster, Anita Thacher, and Elyn Zimmerman).