Media Release

Oct. 28, 2015

Media only:

Kelly Carnes 202.455.6151: carnesk@si.edu
Jennifer Joy 646.765.6599: jen@suttonpr.com

Media website: http://www.hirshhorn.si.edu/press/

Hirshhorn Sets Fundraising Record for Gala and Announces List of Artist Honorees

Gala To Be Held at 4 World Trade Center in New York Monday, Nov. 9

The Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden is announced that the fundraising campaign for the 40th Anniversary Gala has raised more than \$1.55 million. It is the most successful fundraising gala in the Museum's history and will be attended by more than 400 guests. The event will be held at 4 World Trade Center in New York Monday, Nov. 9.

The funds raised are composed of significant donations from across the United States, including California, Florida, Iowa, Minnesota, New York and Washington, D.C., and around the world, including Canada, Indonesia, Korea and the United Arab Emirates.

"This is a transformative moment in the history of the Hirshhorn, and we are honored to have the opportunity to build so successfully on the rich legacy left by Joseph and Olga Hirshhorn," said **Melissa Chiu**, director of the museum. "The 40th Anniversary Gala will be a celebration of the museum's future, building on the momentum of the past year."

Proceeds from the Gala will benefit the Hirshhorn's programing in an effort to enhance onsite and online offerings to the museum's audiences in Washington, D.C., and across the globe.

In celebration of its 40-year history as one of the nation's leading voices for contemporary art and culture, the Hirshhorn is thrilled to announce the complete list of artist honorees who will be present for the evening: Marina Abramović, Janine Antoni, Siah Armajani, Lynda Benglis, Walead Beshty, Mark Bradford, Cai Guo-Qiang, Christo, Chuck Close, Dan Colen, Petah Coyne, Thomas Demand, Mark di Suvero, Spencer Finch, Charles Gaines, Sam Gilliam, Terence Gower, Roni Horn, Allen Jones, Jennie C. Jones, Ilya + Emilia Kabakov, Anish Kapoor, Jeff Koons, Joseph Kosuth, Lee Ufan, Shana Lutker, Julie Mehretu, Maggie Michael, Jason Moran, Malcolm Morley, Shirin Neshat, Ernesto Neto, Park Seobo, Martin Puryear, Sean Scully, Nobuo Sekine, Dan Steinhilber and Lawrence Weiner.

Smithsonian Institution Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden MRC 350 PO Box 37012 Washington DC 20013-7012 Telephone 202.633.1618 Fax 202.633.8796 Independence Avenue at Seventh Street SW, Washington DC

The 40 artists, recognized for their significant and lasting contributions to modern and contemporary art, hail from 16 different countries, including the Bahamas, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Ethiopia, Germany, India, Iran, Ireland, Japan, Korea, Russia, Serbia, United Kingdom and United States.

The Gala's honorary chairs include Jim Demetrion, Ann Hamilton, Ellsworth Kelly, Yoko Ono, Julian Sands and Jason Wu; lead supporter Larry Gagosian; and cochairs Wendy Dayton and Milly and Arne Glimcher.

4 World Trade Center, located in the heart of Manhattan's Financial District, offers sweeping panoramic views of the city skyline. Guests will enjoy an elegant cocktail reception followed by a seated dinner featuring a special premiere performance by **Theaster Gates and the Black Monks of Mississippi** and a dessert reception.

For more information on the Hirshhorn's 40th Anniversary Gala, visit: hirshhorn.si.edu/bio/40th-anniversary-gala/.



HONOREES Marina Abramović • Ai Weiwei • Janine Antoni • Siah Armajani • Lynda Benglis • Walead Beshty • Mark Bradford • Cai Guo-Qiang • Christo • Chuck Close • Dan Colen • Petah Coyne • Thomas Demand • Mark di Suvero • Spencer Finch • Charles Gaines • Sam Gilliam • Terence Gower • Dan Graham • Roni Horn • Allen Jones • Jennie C. Jones • Ilya & Emilia Kabakov • Anish Kapoor • Jeff Koons • Joseph Kosuth • Lee Ufan • Shana Lutker • Julie Mehretu • Maggie Michael • Jason Moran • Malcolm Morley • Shirin Neshat • Ernesto Neto • Park Seobo • Martin Puryear • Sean Scully • Nobuo Sekine • Dan Steinhilber • Lawrence Weiner