Hirshhorn Plaza


Now entering its fifth decade, the Hirshhorn is a leading voice for contemporary art and culture and provides a national platform for the art and artists of our time. Located in the heart of Washington, DC, on the National Mall, we are free to all, and open 364 days a year. As one of the most visited modern art museums in the U.S., we seek to share the transformative power of modern and contemporary art by creating meaningful, personal experiences in which art, artists, audiences and ideas converge. Through groundbreaking exhibitions, events, research and acquisitions, we create the space where people encounter the most important artists of the 21st century. The Hirshhorn’s holdings encompass one of the most important collections of postwar American and European art in the world. We are committed to providing the artists of today a national platform to explore new ways to create, with performance, digital media, video, and technology.


We’re passionate art lovers from around the globe. Interested in joining us? We always welcome enthusiastic volunteers and interns. For career opportunities, please visit SI HR.


  • Daniel Sallick, Chair
  • John Pappajohn, Vice Chair
  • Jane Lipton Cafritz, Secretary
  • The Honorable Kenneth E. Bentsen Jr., Treasurer
  • Haryanto Adikoesoemo
  • David Appel
  • Isaac “Yitz” Applbaum
  • Jill Bernstein
  • Marcus Brauchli
  • Peggy Burnet
  • Stéphan Crétier
  • Trinh D. Doan
  • Steve Elmendorf
  • Stephanie Foster
  • Theaster Gates
  • Danny Goldberg
  • Janine W. Hill
  • Joleen Julis
  • Sonny Kalsi
  • Isaac Lee
  • Robert Lehrman
  • Adam Metz
  • Harold J. Newman
  • Mark Rosman
  • Sheri Schlesinger
  • Adam Singer
  • Ellen Susman
  • Juliana Curran Terian
  • Jill Cooper Udall
  • Ginny Williams
  • Xiang-Dong (X.D.) Yang


  • The Honorable John G. Roberts Jr., Chief Justice of the United States
  • Richard Kurin


  • Jerome L. Greene*
  • Olga Hirshhorn*
  • Sydney Lewis*


  • Joseph H. Hirshhorn*
  • Barbara Levine


  • Peggy Burnet, 2013-2016
  • Constance R. Caplan, 2012–2013
  • J. Tomilson Hill, 2004–2012
  • Robert Lehrman, 1997–2004
  • Jerome L. Greene,* 1991–1997
  • Sydney Lewis,* 1985–1991
  • The Honorable Daniel Patrick Moynihan,* 1971–1985

* Deceased

  • Mark Beasley, Robert and Arlene Kogod Secretarial Scholar, Curator of Media and Performance Art
  • Jarrett Gregory, Curator
  • Evelyn Hankins, Senior Curator
  • Gianni Jetzer, Curator-At-Large
  • Mika Yoshitake, Curator
  • Kevin Hull, Assistant Director of Public Engagement
  • Larry Hyman, Manager of Exhibition and Curatorial Planning
  • Al Masino, Director of Exhibitions, Design, and Special Projects
  • Emily Mitra Moqtaderi, Director of Advancement
  • Allison Peck, Director of Communications and Marketing
  • Sarah Stauderman, Director of Collections
  • Chris Wailoo, Director of Administration and Finance


Since opening in 1974, we’ve been a leading voice for the groundbreaking artists of our time.

 “It is an honor to have given my art collection to the people of the United States as a small repayment for what this nation has done for me and others like me who arrived here as immigrants. What I accomplished in the United States I could not have accomplished anywhere else in the world.” -Joseph Hirshhorn