Ai Weiwei with Melissa Chiu during James T Demetrion Lecture

This annual program is a tradition that was established in 2001 to celebrate Jim Demetrion’s seventeen-year tenure as the Hirshhorn’s second director. Made possible by the Friends of Jim and Barbara Demetrion Endowment Fund, this is the Hirshhorn’s most distinguished lecture series, and the Museum has brought in a wealth of exciting speakers, including Marina Abramović, Olafur Eliasson, Glenn Lowry, Robert Storr, Yve-Alain Bois, Ellsworth Kelly, James Turrell, Doug Aitken, Jeff Koons, and Claes Oldenburg.

Lectures are generally held in the Ring Auditorium on the Lower Level of the Museum.